My Grandfather in Saskatoon

I hope all my first followers will forgive the repetitions of old posts, but the are some who are new to the “stuff an’ nonsense” that I hoist upon you. The following poem concerns my Grandfather. There is some confusion concerning his background. His family were printers in London and some of the family believe they were Jewish. Grandpa apparently converted to Christianity and was immediately disowned. He joined the Anglican Church as a priest and went to Canada where he was attached to the RCMP (Mounties) as a chaplain. There is a letter from the person who was to become his commanding officer which includes the phrase, ‘I do trust he is capable with his fists!’  

The circumstances provoked the following poem.

There are a few elements of truth in this poem. You have permission to believe as little or as much as you wish.

I’m writing fam’ly history

In something close to verse.

I’ve made up most of what you read

The truth is much much worse.

It starts with dear old grandpa

Who worked in Saskatoon

He worked for God amongst the men

Who drank in the saloon.

He had a fiercesome upper cut

He needed it some times

For often drunken Polak lads

Came up there from the mines.

“Don’t go out in the snow Gran’pa

Don’t go in the snow.

If you live in Saskatoon

It’s something you should know.”

Now Grandpa left 0ld England

With a Bible in his sack.

He knew he heard God calling.

He knew he’d not turn back.

 

Before he went to Canada

Before he got so cold.

Our Grandpa went to Mexico.

Or so I have been told.

He stayed in Acapulco.

He drank the native wine.

He didn’t like it very much.

Maybe, some other time.

But something kept on calling –

Maybe God. Or maybe Ma.

“Come home you silly dreamer,

We think you’ve gone too far.”

But Grandpa didn’t listen.

He knew where he should be.

So he went to Saskatchewan

He needed snow, to see.

“Don’t go out in the snow Gran’pa

Don’t go in the snow.

If you live in Saskatoon

It’s something you should know.”

He started out in Winnipeg

Some place you all should know

But then he went down to somewhere

Called Boise Idaho.

Now all my current family –

People I revere

Say “That’s not how my Daddy told

The story we hold dear.”

So let me say again my friends

I’ll say it very clear.

I’m making all this story up.

If nothing – I’m sincere.

“Don’t go out in the snow Gran’pa

Don’t go in the snow.

If you live in Saskatoon

It’s something you should know.”

But silly dear old Grandpa.

One evening, quite bereft.

He went out in the freezing snow

And the poor man froze to death.

Grandmother on her honeymoon..

 

Of course he didn’t freeze to death. He came to Australia and became my grand father. And that was he on the horse.

8 thoughts on “My Grandfather in Saskatoon

Leave a Reply

