Water Tower Art.

Hello everybody, I’m back. Did you miss me? I know some of you did and thanks for the messages.
I won’t have a chance of getting back to all your posts but I’ll do what I can.

Anyway, here we go again.

What is that? Let me explain. Yesterday I went for a longish drive for the first time in over a month. I wanted to see what it was that the purple teardrops wanted me to see.

So as I drove into the little town of Cressy and saw, standing above the surrounding trees the old water tower.

It was a bright sunny day and, unfortunately, the sun was shining directly on the north side of the tower. This meant that the south side would be hard to photograph.

The train is there to represent the connection of the town to the Victorian Railways network in 1910. Above the train is a MK V Spitfire. After the outbreak of World War II, an airfield was constructed south of the town and was used by the RAAF until 1946 as a combat training base and for bombing practice.

The other sided is not as clear, as I mentioned before.

The lower panel represents Woady Yaloak River. The area was opened up to European settlement in 1836 In 1837, a French man named Jean Duverney crossed the river, claimed land on both banks, and named the area “Frenchman’s Run”. He called the small, developing village Cressy, after Crécy in France, where he was born.

The upper panel shows a RAAF A1-55 Hawker Demon which was used as a tug to tow targets for the Spitfires to practice firing.

There are well over 140 painted water towers and silos from one end of Australia to the other.

https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/siloart shows some of the silos.

https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/water-tower-art shows some of the water towers.

https://www.australiansiloarttrail.com/map This map shows you a link to each of the towers, silos and other structures.

I am not sure of other countries with the same thing but I imagine that Canada and The US of A, with the vast areas of grain growing on the prairies would do the same.

EetOE

16 thoughts on “Water Tower Art.

  1. In the U.S., there must be some painted with images, but among the grain silos that I’ve seen, all they carry, if that, is the name of a company or owner. Water towers in the U.S. occasionally carry the name of the municipality they serve. I guess we are rather boring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Had a look at some of the other places with their artworks. Did you find the water tower painting by accident or was it an intentional drive to Cressy? Interesting to hear the history behind the paintings and the town’s history.

    Like

  3. Whenever I have posted about the silo art in Australia, fellow blogger Don Ostertag, a country raised-now-living-in-Minnesota (I think) chap, he comments that he wishes they would do the same thing locally. I don’t think it is common in the USofA.

    Like

  4. Seems like a great idea. We have one very large water tower with murals on in a nearby town, but not so charming as this.

    Hope you’re recovered from whatever was ailing you. Sorry I haven’t been here for a while. Still struggling to fit it all in.

    Like

Leave a comment