A horse by any other name will always be a horse.

Intro:- I asked some time back, and have asked before, that if you would like me to look at something special I would love to. tennessee892 asked me for some pictures of horses and Ankur Mithal  of darkofficehumour asked; “John, is there any chance you could show us pix of some sporting action amongst common people?”  So, first in best dressed as they say.

I visited the Ballarat Turf Club to take some photos of horses for tennessee892. Sometimes people are a bit on their guard when cameras are poked in front of them. So I try to have a bit of a story without telling out and out fibs. “He’s a good looking horse. Is he yours? My sister used to be a strapper and she’s not well at the moment and I asked her what I could do and she said she wanted a photo of a nice horse.” Now I don’t know what you think about ‘horsey’ people but I got the same reaction the three times I used the excuse. “Of course take as many as you want. And I hope your sister gets well.”

This was one of the nice ladies and her horse was quiet, strong and very alert.

I think this fellow was my favourite.

And here they all are. Just click on one for a full slide show.

And here is a photograph of my sister Fiona who as a child was probably a lot like Tennessee892.

So remember, if you didn’t ever know that Australia is a real place and you’d like me to show you something then just ask.

13 thoughts on “A horse by any other name will always be a horse.

  1. I’m not a horsey person as such, but nice to get up close to such fun horses these. In black-and-white photo the jockey is a pretty good looking young girl. Don’t think much of the racing horse. She’d have never won too many races.

    Like

    1. A strapper is the person who looks after the horse in stables and prepares it with the saddle etc. It might be a different word in England. Try again I hope all the photographs are up and running.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment